How Many Star Wars Movies Are There?

30 best u/canonchronicler images on Pholder Star Wars, Starwarscanon
30 best u/canonchronicler images on Pholder Star Wars, Starwarscanon from

The Star Wars Saga

It’s hard to believe that the first Star Wars movie, now known as Episode IV: A New Hope, was released in 1977. Since then, the Star Wars franchise has become a cultural phenomenon, with fans around the world eagerly anticipating each new release.

As of 2023, there are currently twelve Star Wars movies in the main saga, with additional standalone films and TV shows set in the Star Wars universe. Let’s take a closer look at each of these films.

Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace (1999)

The first prequel film in the Star Wars saga, The Phantom Menace explores the backstory of Darth Vader and introduces fan-favorite characters like Qui-Gon Jinn and Jar Jar Binks.

Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones (2002)

The second prequel film sees Anakin Skywalker grow closer to Padmé Amidala, while the Clone Wars begin to take shape.

Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)

The final prequel film shows Anakin’s fall to the dark side and his transformation into Darth Vader, as well as the birth of Luke and Leia.

Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977)

The film that started it all, A New Hope follows Luke Skywalker and his friends as they fight against the evil Empire and try to rescue Princess Leia.

Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980)

Considered by many to be the best Star Wars movie, The Empire Strikes Back sees Luke train with Jedi Master Yoda while Han Solo and Princess Leia flee from Darth Vader and the Empire.

Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi (1983)

The final movie in the original trilogy, Return of the Jedi sees Luke confront Darth Vader and the Emperor, while the Rebel Alliance prepares to destroy the second Death Star.

Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens (2015)

The first movie in the sequel trilogy, The Force Awakens introduces new characters like Rey and Finn while bringing back old favorites like Han Solo and Chewbacca.

Star Wars: Episode VIII – The Last Jedi (2017)

The second movie in the sequel trilogy sees Rey begin to learn the ways of the Force while Kylo Ren struggles with his own allegiance to the dark side.

Star Wars: Episode IX – The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

The final movie in the sequel trilogy, The Rise of Skywalker brings the Skywalker saga to a close as Rey and her friends fight against the evil Emperor Palpatine.

Standalone Films

In addition to the main saga, there are also several standalone films set in the Star Wars universe.

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016)

Rogue One tells the story of a group of rebels who steal the plans for the Death Star, setting up the events of A New Hope.

Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)

Solo explores the backstory of fan-favorite character Han Solo, showing how he became the smuggler we all know and love.

TV Shows

Finally, there are also several TV shows set in the Star Wars universe, including the animated series Star Wars: The Clone Wars and Star Wars Rebels.


So, in total, there are currently twelve Star Wars movies in the main saga, two standalone films, and several TV shows. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or a newcomer to the franchise, there’s something for everyone in the Star Wars universe.

About admin

Check Also

Amy Good Nurse: A Real-Life Hero In 2023

» 13 Curiosidades sobre la verdadera historia de “The Good Nurse”, la from The …