‘Monster’ Halan, the first EPL player of the year and young player ‘two crowns’ challenge


36 goals in the league alone in the debut season

(Seoul = Yonhap News) Reporter Ahn Hong-seok = ‘Monster striker’ Elling Hollan (Manchester City) challenges to win two crowns, the Best Player Award and the Young Player Award in the English Professional Football Premier League (EPL).

The EPL Secretariat announced on the 19th (Korean time) the list of candidates for individual awards for the 2022-2023 season, including the Player of the Season Award, Young Player Award, and Manager Award, which are equivalent to the Best Player Award.

Hollan, who has a shocking debut season by breaking the record for most goals in a league season, was nominated for both Player of the Season and Young Player of the Season.

The Player of the Season Award was awarded in the 1994-1995 season, and the Young Player of the Year Award was first awarded in the 2019-2020 season, but no player has ever received both awards in one season.

Hollan scored 36 goals in the EPL and had a season that was not enough to win two crowns.

The previous EPL record for most goals in a season was 34, held by Andy Cole (1993-1994 season) and Alan Shearer (1994-1995 season), but Hollan broke this record in his debut season.

Haalan has scored 52 goals in all competitions he has participated in this season, and is also aiming to break Dixie Dean’s 63 goals in 1928, the most in this category.

Haaland’s player of the season looks very promising.

On the 13th, the England Football Writers Association (FWA) selected Hollan as the male soccer player of the year, and the difference in votes with the second place was the largest ever.

At least, teammate Kevin De Bruyne, who leads the league in assists ranking (16), is mentioned as a competitor to Halan.

In addition to them, Harry Kane (Tottenham), Martin Odegaard, Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United) and Kieran Trippier (Newcastle) were nominated for Player of the Season.

In this season’s Young Player Award, Oedegor and Saka, who led Arsenal’s high flight, are expected to compete with Haalan.

Arsenal’s Gabriel Martinelli, Brighton & Hove Albion’s Alexis Markalister and Moises Caicedo, and Newcastle’s Alexander Isaac and Sven Botman are also nominated for the Young Player Award.

This season’s coaches include Pep Guardiola (Manchester City) and Mikel Arteta (Arsenal), who competed fiercely for the championship, as well as Roberto Dezerbi (Brighton), Unai Emery (Aston Villa), Eddie Howe (Newcastle), Marco A total of six candidates, including Silva (Fulham), were nominated.

This season’s Player, Young Player, and Manager awards are determined by adding expert votes to fan votes held on the EPL website until the 22nd local time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here