Curry Wins NBA Karim Abdul-Jabba Social Justice Champion Award

(Seoul = Yonhap News) Correspondent Seol Ha-eun = Stephen Curry, the star of the NBA’s Golden State Warriors, was awarded the Karim Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion Award.

The NBA Secretariat announced on the 24th (Korean time) that Curry was selected as the recipient of the Karim Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion Award for the 2022-2023 season.

Named after Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, a “legend” of the NBA who led the black civil rights movement, this award targets active NBA players who pursue social justice or take the lead in realizing the NBA’s values ​​of equality, respect, and inclusion.

The NBA said, “Curry is committed to advancing Abdul-Jabbar’s spirit of pursuing social justice and advancing equality and human rights for those who have been historically marginalized or institutionally disadvantaged.”

According to the NBA, Curry served as co-chair of the “When We All Vote” initiative, conducted by Michelle Obama, wife of former US President Barack Obama, to register voters, educate and encourage voters in last year’s US midterm elections. .

Stephen Curry
Stephen Curry

In January of this year, Curry, who visited the White House with the Warriors team as the 2021-2022 NBA winning team, met with US President Joe Biden and also talked about safety issues in the community.

In addition, it supported scholarships to break down barriers to social advancement for the socially underprivileged and helped female players to gain opportunities equal to those of male players.

His multimedia company ‘Unanimous Media’ collaborates with unknown filmmakers, creators, and writers, and ‘Eat.Learn.Play’ (Eat.Learn.Play. ) provided Auckland children and their families with food, study, reading and play spaces.

In addition to Curry, the group of five finalists for the Karim Abdul-Jabbar Champion of Social Justice Award announced last week included Jaren Jackson Jr. of the Memphis Grizzlies, Tre Jones of the San Antonio Spurs, Chris Paul of the Phoenix Suns and Grant Williams of the Boston Celtics.

Previous recipients of the award, established in 2021, include Carmelo Anthony of the Los Angeles Lakers (then Portland Trail Blazers), who announced his retirement the day before, and Reggie Bullock of the Dallas Mavericks.

About Delisa

Check Also

CSK vs GT: Final Of IPL 2023 Moved To Reserved Day Due To Persistent Rains

The final match of IPl 2023 between CSK and GT will take place on Monday, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.