Csa Pronounces Provisional Proteas Girls Squad For 2022 Commonwealth Video Games


JOHANNESBURG: Cricket South Africa (CSA) has today confirmed the provisional 21-participant Proteas Women squad so as to be representing Team South Africa in T20 cricket at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham from 29 July – 07 August. This can be the first time the format and the women’s sport are included within the Games’ records.

South Africa had been drawn in Group B and will come up towards New Zealand, England, and Sri Lanka for a place inside the semi-finals, with the very last set for Sunday, 07 August.

South Africa’s T20 Cricket Provisional Squad for 2022 Commonwealth Games:

Anneke Bosch (Senwes Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Senwes Dragons), Trisha Chetty (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Lara Goodall (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Sinalo Jafta (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (Imperial Lions), Masabata Klaas (Senwes Dragons), Lizelle Lee (Senwes Dragons), Suné Luus (Titans Ladies), Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Tumi Sekhukhune (Imperial Lions), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Chloé Tryon (Hollywoodbets KZN Coastal), Mignon du Preez (Titans Ladies), Dané van Niekerk (Eastern Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Andrie Steyn (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Imperial Lions), Delmari Tucker (Six Gun Grill Western Province)

The talented organization of gamers features 14 individuals of the squad who took part in the 2020 ICC Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup as well all 18 stars that travelled and performed in this yr’s 50-over international showpiece in New Zealand.

Captain, Dané van Niekerk has additionally been named within the enlarged squad as she keeps her rehabilitation adventure from a fractured ankle, while the simplest uncapped player in Delmi Tucker is also listed as a capability member of the Games’ contingent.

Despite no longer playing lots T20 cricket within the final three hundred and sixty five days, the Proteas will head into the Birmingham Games as severe contenders following their superb displaying in the 2020 T20 World Cup wherein they were denied by way of Duckworth/Lewis inside the semi-finals against hosts and eventual winners, Australia.

Hilton Moreeng’s prices are presently in Ireland for a white ball tour that features a three-healthy T20 collection, with South Africa levelling the series one-all with a vehement display within the 2nd come upon following a defeat within the collection-opener. The decider receives underway on Wednesday, 08 June from 17h30 SA time (16h30 nearby time).

South Africa will finalize their Commonwealth Games coaching with three rip-roaring T20 clashes in opposition to England between 21 – 25 July as a part of their multi-layout tour to the UK.

A final 15-player squad might be introduced on 12 July.

CSA Chief Executive Pholetsi Moseki commented:

“This is a momentous occasion for Cricket South Africa and ladies’s cricket as a whole as we put together to send a group to the prestigious Commonwealth Games for the primary time in 24 years, where the guys’s group proudly won gold on the Malaysia Games in 1998.

“On behalf of Cricket South Africa, I would really like to want all of the players and control set to represent the sport we all keep dearly to our hearts all the very pleasant at some stage in this historical Commonwealth Games campaign. Coach Hilton Moreeng and the final squad the selectors will determine on will absolute confidence preserve to make us as a country extraordinarily proud at the cricket area.

“This Proteas organization will be part of a completely unique class of the cricketing fraternity who’ve flown the South African flag in a multi-code occasion, standing side-by way of-side with excessive-overall performance athletes from various sports activities, consisting of track and area, swimming, gymnastics in addition to netball.

“We might additionally like to extend our gratitude to the South African Sports Confederations and Olympic Committee (SASCOC) for their facilitation of the group’s preparedness for this really international occasion.”

Team Management: Hilton Moreeng (Head Coach), Sedibu Mohlaba (Team Manager), Dillon du Preez (Assistant Coach), Abram Ramoadi (Performance Analyst), Molebatsi Theletsane (Physiotherapist), Zane Webster (Strength and Conditioning Coach)

South Africa’s 2022 Commonwealth Games T20 Cricket Fixtures:

  • Saturday, 30 July @ 11h00 neighborhood time – New Zealand vs South Africa
  • Tuesday, 02 August @ 11h00 nearby time – England vs South Africa
  • Thursday, 04 August @ 11h00 local time – South Africa vs Sri Lanka

2022 Commonwealth Games T20 Cricket Teams:

Group A: Australia, Barbados, India, Pakistan

Click right here for: MORE CRICKET NEWS

Post Views: 72


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here