Birmingham 2022: Csa Publicizes Provisional Proteas Women Squad For Cwg – Articles


South Africa are in Group B and will come up against New Zealand, England, and Sri Lanka for a place in the semi-finals, with the final set for August 7.

Johannesburg [South Africa], June eight (ANI): Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Wednesday announced the provisional 21-participant Proteas girls squad with a view to be representing Team South Africa in T20 cricket on the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham from July 29 to August 7.

South Africa are in Group B and will come up towards New Zealand, England, and Sri Lanka for an area inside the semi-finals, with the final set for August 7.

The proficient organization of gamers functions 14 contributors of the squad who took part within the 2020 ICC

Women’s T20 Cricket World Cup as well all 18 stars who travelled and performed on this yr’s 50-over global showpiece in New Zealand.

Captain, Dane van Niekerk has additionally been named within the enlarged squad as she maintains her

rehabilitation journey from a fractured ankle, whilst the best uncapped participant in Delmi Tucker is likewise indexed as a potential member of the Games’ contingent.

Despite not gambling a great deal T20 cricket inside the remaining one year, the Proteas will head into Birmingham Games as serious contenders following their extraordinary displaying within the 2020 T20 World Cup in which they were denied via Duckworth/Lewis inside the semi-finals towards hosts and eventual winners, Australia.

Hilton Moreeng’s prices are currently in Ireland for a white ball tour that features a 3-suit T20 collection, with South Africa levelling the collection one-all with a vehement show in the second stumble upon following a defeat in the series-opener. The decider receives underway on June eight.

“This is a momentous occasion for Cricket South Africa and girls’s cricket as a whole as we put together to ship a crew to the distinguished Commonwealth Games for the primary time in 24 years, where the guys’s team proudly gained gold on the Malaysia Games in 1998,” stated CSA Chief Executive Pholetsi Moseki in a statement.

South Africa will finalize their Commonwealth Games education with three rip-roaring T20 clashes in opposition to England between July 21-25 as a part of their multi-format excursion to the UK.

South Africa girls CWG 2022 provisional squad: Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Lara Goodall, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Tumi Sekhukhune, Shabnim Ismail, Chloe Tryon, Mignon du Preez, Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt, Andrie Steyn, Raisibe Ntozakhe, Delmari Tucker. (ANI)Related Topics


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here