The Bond Film Chronology: A Guide To The Iconic Franchise

James Bond Chronology
James Bond Chronology from


The James Bond franchise has been an enduring part of popular culture since the release of the first film, Dr. No, in 1962. Over the years, the series has grown to include 25 films, with a 26th installment currently in development. In this article, we will take a look at the Bond film chronology, from the early days of Sean Connery to the latest adventures of Daniel Craig.

Sean Connery Era (1962-1971)

The first Bond film, Dr. No, introduced audiences to Sean Connery’s take on the character. Connery would go on to star in six more Bond films over the next decade, including From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, and Thunderball. These early films established many of the tropes that would become hallmarks of the franchise, including the iconic opening credits sequences, the gadgets provided by Q Branch, and the use of exotic locations.

George Lazenby (1969)

In 1969, Sean Connery announced that he would no longer be playing Bond. The producers of the series quickly cast Australian model and actor George Lazenby as his replacement. Lazenby only appeared in one Bond film, On Her Majesty’s Secret Service, but his performance has since become a cult favorite among fans of the franchise.

Roger Moore Era (1973-1985)

After Lazenby’s brief stint as Bond, the producers turned to Roger Moore to take over the role. Moore’s Bond was known for his humor and charm, as well as his reliance on gadgets and technology. Moore appeared in seven Bond films, including Live and Let Die, The Spy Who Loved Me, and A View to a Kill.

Timothy Dalton Era (1987-1989)

In the late 1980s, the Bond franchise underwent a bit of a reboot with the casting of Timothy Dalton as the new Bond. Dalton’s Bond was darker and grittier than his predecessors, and his two films, The Living Daylights and Licence to Kill, were more grounded in reality than the more fantastical entries in the series.

Pierce Brosnan Era (1995-2002)

In 1995, Pierce Brosnan took over the role of Bond, bringing his own brand of charm and sophistication to the character. Brosnan starred in four Bond films, including GoldenEye, Tomorrow Never Dies, and Die Another Day. These films were notable for their use of cutting-edge technology and special effects, as well as their focus on action and adventure.

Daniel Craig Era (2006-2020)

In 2006, the Bond franchise once again underwent a reboot with the casting of Daniel Craig as the new Bond. Craig’s Bond was more serious and brooding than his predecessors, and his films, including Casino Royale, Quantum of Solace, and Skyfall, were more grounded and character-driven than the earlier entries in the series. Craig’s tenure as Bond came to an end with the release of No Time to Die in 2020.

The Future of the Franchise

As of 2023, the Bond franchise is set to continue with a new actor in the role of Bond. While details are scarce at this point, fans can expect more of the same action, adventure, and intrigue that has made the franchise a global phenomenon for over 60 years.


The Bond film chronology is a rich and varied one, spanning over six decades and featuring some of the most iconic moments in cinema history. Whether you’re a fan of the early Sean Connery films or the more recent adventures of Daniel Craig, there is something for everyone in the world of Bond. So grab your martini, shake or stirred, and settle in for another thrilling adventure with 007.

About admin

Check Also

Who Owns X-Men: The Lowdown

XMen Won't Join the MCU Until at Least 2021? from Introduction X-Men, a popular …